24 Books to Get Excited About in 2017 (from Independent Publishers)


There are a lot of great 2017 book posts around at the moment and undoubtedly you've seen more than one of them. However general hype means that a lot of the same books are popping up on all of these lists, so we thought we'd do our own.


In case you're unaware our major aim is to promote all of the excellent things that independent publishers are doing, and in pursuit of that we've looked through a lot of catalogues and discovered everything you need to know about twenty four excellent books coming out in 2017. Of course there are many more excellent titles than this, and we'll have six great boxes coming out this year if you want to discover more, so make sure you're signed up to our newsletter for all the information as they come. In the meantime use this list as a starting point and go forth and discover!

January

The Great and the Good by Michel Deon (Gallic) - This comes out on 10th January and is about a young man travelling by boat to America, bound for an Ivy League education and a lot of expectations for his future, but his days on board will change his life. Gallic publish literature in translation from French authors, which adds another interesting aspect to reading.

Radio Sunrise by Anietie Isong (Jacaranda Books) is set in Lagos, Nigeria and is a tragicomical novel about Ifiok, a young journalist aspiring to do the right thing against all odds.

February

The Dolls Alphabet by Camilla Grudova (Fitzcarraldo Editions) is billed as 'stories in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood', and there's really nothing like quoting two of our favourite, most influential authors to get me to read something.

Suslov's Daughter by Habib Abdulrab Sarori (Darf Books). Initially this book caught our eye because it's set in South Yemen and I don't know about you but we don't come across a huge number of books set there. It follows Imran, a young man growing up there, who finds himself drawn to a young woman, Hawiya. He leaves to study in Paris and returns years later to find that she has become essentially a recruiter for the conservative Islamist movement. The book was long listed for the Arabic Booker.

Leaving is My Colour by Amy Burns (Freight Books) sounds like it will be an immersive experience. Set in the Southern US it follows Rachel as her family become wealthy and she descends into drink, drugs,OCD and dysfunctional relationships. We love books about people's attempts to reconnect with each other and this looks like it will fit the bill nicely!

Writing on Water by Maggie Harris (Seren Books) - Maggie Harris was born in the Caribbean and now lives in Britain and this collection of short stories intertwines the two, bringing a unique voice to a variety of subjects.

March

Protest! Stories of Reistance edited by Ra Page (Comma Press) - a collection of short stories of fictional characters within non-fictional moments Protest shows a history of riot, revolution and social change. Comma Press do unique short story collections really well, so this is one to look for.

My Beautiful Shadow by Radhika Jha (Jacaranda Books) is a story of 'consumerism gone mad'. Kayo, a Tokyo housewife seems to have it all together, but she's part of a secret club dedicated to luxury which helps her to escape the tedium of her everyday life. It quickly spirals though, and she has to find a way out of the dark world she's descended into.

April

Dragon's Green by Scarlett Thomas (Canongate) - Scarlett Thomas, acclaimed author of sciency surreal novels such as The Seed Collectors and The End of Mr Y, has written a children's book! Effie Truelove (what a great name) is a pupil at the Tusitala School for the Gifted, Troubled and Strange when her grandfather is attacked. She promises to look after his magical books but when they fall into the wrong hands she has to embark on the most dangerous adventure of her life.

Flesh of the Peach by Helen McClory (Freight Books)

Sarah, an English woman living in New York, is left a large amount of money after the death of her estranged, aristocratic mother, whose death coincides with the end of Sarah's affair with a married woman. Instead of returning home she decides to travel by bus to her mother's cabin in New Mexico where she begins a relationship, but there are hints of tragedy about to ensue...

Billionaires' Banquet by Ron Butlin (Salt) - a man sets up a business in 1985 Edinburgh catering to the appetites of the rich, but by the new millennium their appetites have become too demanding...

May

An English Guide to Bird Watching by Nicholas Royle (Myriad Editions)

sounds like a book full of intrigue and mysteries. Silas and Ethel Woodlock have retired to the sea after a life spent in undertaking. Stephen Osmer and Lily Lynch are a brilliant young couple involved in the arts and literary scene of London. Theft and affairs ensue!

The Photographer by Meike Ziervogel (Salt) follows the story of a young photographer in Europe who falls in love with a woman. Then war breaks out and he is sent to the front while his wife and child flee from the advancing Russians. After the war he and his wife are reconciled but do they have the strength to start their relationship anew?

Goblin by Ever Dundas (Freight Books) is another book set during a war. Goblin is rejected by her mother and lives a feral life with a gang of street children during the Blitz of London in World War 2. After witnessing a shocking event she begins to take refuge in a magical imaginary world. In 2011 an elderly Goblin returns to London amidst the riots to confront her past...

June

Murder in Montego Bay by Paula Lennon (Jacaranda Books) - In Montego Bay, Jamaica, two privileged Chinese-Jamaican brothers are arrested. One is detained for drunk driving; the other released without charge. Minutes later he is shot dead. Raytheon Preddy, a discredited detective, is put in charge of the case and is determined to catch the killer.

Noni's Wedding by Aneurin Wright (Myriad Editions) is the only graphic novel featured on this particular list, although there will be another list of graphics coming up! This is the story of Harry, struggling to come to terms with his grief and mend his broken family after the death of his wife. He must complete labours, Hercules style, in order to rebuild his family, including finding a favourite niece, Noni.

The Cure for Lonely by Jessica Thummel (Freight Books) - a road trip, a young transgender man coming to terms with his identity and a community of misfits and oddballs. Sounds fantastic!

July

The Way of Florida by Russell Persson (Little Island Press)

My Shitty Twenties by Emily Morris (Salt) - This is Emily Morris's memoir about getting pregnant when she was 22 and still in university, and then going through with the pregnancy despite feeling completely unmaternal.

The Threat Level Remains Severe by Rowena MacDonald (Gallic) - This is one of those books where there are three characters who seem totally unrelated but then throughout the course of the story they all end up intertwined. Grace is a House of Commons secretary bored with her job, when along comes new recruit Brett, destined to shake up everything...

August

How to be a Kosovan Bride by Naomi Hamill (Salt) - weaving together Albanian folktale, stories of Kosovan experience of the war and the experiences of Kosovan women today, this novel promises to be a very interesting read.

Low Heights by Pascal Garnier (Gallic) - a man comes to the door one day claiming to be the son of cantankerous Edouard Lavenant, but is he who he claims to be?

September

Farewell Damascus by Ghada Samman (Darf Books)

October

Family of Love by Neil Griffiths (Dodo Ink) - this is by the founder of the Republic of Consciousness Prize for independently published books, and is about a man who has an existential crisis and leaves his job and family behind to build a church on a patch of wasteland helped by local drifters.

Some of these titles link directly to the publishers' websites, and of course we would always encourage you to buy direct from the publisher when you can as it means they get móre of the money! We will also be stocking some of these titles in our shop as the year progresses so look out for them.

We hope you've discovered some great titles to add to your TBRs. Which books are you most excited for in 2017?


1 view

Press

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon